How do collectives rise and fall? What is the function of the group’s lack of a common direction
or of enormous individual wills pulling in opposite directions? What is the group’s method for
surviving and coexisting?

Choreographer Hooman Sharifi addresses the social dynamic and the place of the individual in the collective machinery in his piece Shadows remain silent. He is always interested in social constructions and politics and in how people relate to each other.
The group’s context is the here and now, the audience included. The group’s members try to create a common language for the audience to read and interpret. It is in this process that shared spaces can arise, since we are all in the here and now. Living in a society is a constant endeavour to create something together. The dance material in

Shadows remain silent is as much the result of Sharifi’s many conversations with the dancers as of what has taken place on the dance floor. Sharifi has worked with each dancer individually and thereby forced them to observe the individuals in the group. The theme of the piece has been created on the basis of the group’s interaction and understanding of each other.

Superlatives have been used to describe the piece, with both strongly positive and strongly negative connotations, ranging from «Gentle sensitivity and huge energy», «A new era in Norwegian performing arts» and «An inner resonance» to «An assault on the audience», «A series of uncomfortable silences»
and «Carte Blanche serves up contemporary dance without any dance».

The Norwegian-Iranian choreographer Hooman Sharifi’s work is physical and powerful. It shifts between theatre, dance and visual art. Sharifi has a background in street dance and hip hop, and his work explores the feelings and structures that lie concealed behind hierarchies, violence, power and abuse.

Choreography and costumes Hooman Sharifi

Lighting and Set Design Jens Sethzman

Markus Eriksen Hernes

Music Mercedes Sosa;  Balderrama

Dancers Jennifer Dubreuil Houthemann, Núria Navarra Vilasaló, Christine Kjellberg, Sara Enrich Bertran, Irene Vesterhus Theisen, Christopher Flinder Petersen, Timothy Bartlett, Mathias Stoltenberg, Hugo Marmelada and Ole Martin Meland.

45 minutes

World premiere at the Opera de Dijon, France 16 January 2014

Norwegian premiere 
at The Norwegian Opera & Ballet, Oslo 20 January 2014

by and completed i Opera de Dijon January 2014